Today I became an adult.

by europeanmongrel

Today has been a big day for me. I decided it was time I became an adult. I’m 20 years old now and I think it’s time. Today, I’ve stopped reading the Daily Mail and started reading ‘real’ newspapers.

To be honest it’s not really my own choice. Two of my courses this semester require me to read the news. In French, we must bring an article from current news along with a small summary in French. In my international & European law class, our professor kindly asked us to stay up to date with current affairs. As a law major I must confess that sometimes I do feel like I should really know what my professors are talking about when they mention the situation in Mali or talk about the recession. To be honest, all I know about politics at the moment is that David Cameron’s daughter is called Florence and that Michelle Obama has AMAZING arms. Don’t get me wrong, current affairs are important. And as an adult, I should be able to engage in intellectual conversations over a glass (bottle) or two of wine. But lets be real. Knowing things like the name of Adele’s (or Natalie Portman, Victoria Beckham and pretty much any celebs) baby or that Harper is going to be the star of Fashion week is much more fun. Personally, I think the Daily Mail gets more stick than it deserves. Today I learnt women who live closer to their mothers are more likely to get pregnant! I searched the BBC and didn’t find this priceless bit of knowledge.

All this being said, the Daily Mail has unfortunately lost its place as my homepage. What politically neutral newspapers can you recommend for me to start my journey into adulthood? Or better yet, who can give me a crash course in Politics so I can actually pick what I want to read? Is there really more to know then that Obama is great, Bush sucked, England has no hope & babies are cute?

I also thought I’d try to stop smoking today but I thought to myself: Slow down, one step at a time.

 
EMT.

Something I’ve learnt today
– I’m /almost/ ashamed at my lack of knowledge on politics.

Something that made me smile today
– The smell of clean bed sheets.

