Have you ‘instagram-ed’ your dinner today?

by europeanmongrel

The final push I needed to start this blog happened to me at Victoria coach station last week. I was just casually waiting for my coach when I “accidentally” tuned into a very loud conversation a young male was having next to me on his iPhone. The conversation went a little something like this:

[…]

+ Nah man, she’s Spanish but has been living in a UK for a while now…
– How did you meet?
+ Well she uploaded a hot pic on Instagram so I commented on it. She asked me if I had twitter. We sent each other a few Facebook messages and it kicked off from there really.

It was this conversation that really convinced me that every moment there really are less and less people who’s lives don’t resemble something you’d find on Pinterest. It was this conversation that convinced me I really am as uncool as I think I am. And finally, it was this conversation that made me realize that no matter how much I like to say it I’m not so uncool I’m cool again.  I don’t own an iPhone or have a Twitter account.  I’ve never linked a tweet from my Facebook with an Instagram picture of my dinner (in case that doesn’t make sense, it’s not supposed to). For this reason, my blog. For the few people out there who can only drool at picture perfect lives posted on Pinterest, Lookbook and Instagram. Or for those who have no interest in being picture perfect.

I’m a horrifically outspoken, slightly overconfident yet extremely self conscious 20 year old girl/woman who’s life currently resembles… my own homemade mess. I’m starting this blog with a invitation to the world wide web into my daily life. There will be no Instagram photos of my lunch (you can all find pictures of a Sainsburys pre-made lunch online), no DIY posts (unless it’s something well cool, so still probably no) and no outfit posts (I dress in the dark and sometimes wear the same pair of jeans twice).

So here’s to the guy from Victoria coach station, I wish him many happy years with his new hot Spanish girlfriend.

EMT.

Something I’ve learnt today
– Fruit flies don’t die within an hour

Something that made me smile today
– A hug from someone I hadn’t seen in a very long time

